Atlanta Falcons blog 

Atlanta Falcons blog by the AJC's D. Orlando Ledbetter

Cover 9@9: Who else is wearing female deodorant?

  • 9:00 am Wednesday, August 6th, 2014 by D. Orlando Ledbetter

( You can read the Cover9@9 blog  every Wednesday at 9 a.m. throughout the season. We’ll try to get to everything about the Atlanta Falcons. Here’s the third installment.  – D. Orlando Ledbetter)  

1. Man Law violation: Admission time.

Like Falcons wide receiver Harry Douglas, I’ve worn Secret deodorant.

But, let’s be clear, I’ve never worn female deodorant on a regular basis.

I ran out of some manly Old Spice and the only thing in the house was some Secret.

I had to make a decision.

Smell funky all day during the open locker room period and be talked about by the media, players [More]

Claude Humphrey received his gold jacket

  • 11:29 pm Friday, August 1st, 2014 by D. Orlando Ledbetter

CANTON, Ohio — Former Falcons defensive end Claude Humphrey was emotional after receiving his gold jacket at the Canton Civic Center on Friday night.

“I love it,” Humphrey said when asked how his jacket felt.  “I’m glad it took so long. I get to enjoy it a little bit more.”

Humphrey, 70, who had a 22 year wait to get into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, was concerned how he would hold up under all of the activities.

“I’m great,” Humphrey said. “I’m feeling great.”

The enshrinement ceremony will be held at 7 p.m. Saturday and will be televised on NFL Network and ESPN2.

Humphrey said [More]

Falcons return to the practice field today

  • 9:06 am Thursday, July 31st, 2014 by D. Orlando Ledbetter

FLOWERY BRANCH – After taking a mandatory day off, the Falcons return to the field with a 10 a.m. walk-through and a full practice that is open to the public at 3:30 p.m. today.

Here are five observations from the first five days of training camp as the Falcons are trying to rebound from a 4-12 season. It should be noted that owner Arthur Blank was at practice on Monday and Tuesday.

That’s normal. He regularly comes to practice, but he was watching the practices as intensely as I’ve seen over the years. It was clear that he wanted to see [More]

MyAJC free through Thursday; some suggested reading

  • 2:17 pm Wednesday, February 12th, 2014 by D. Orlando Ledbetter

As a service to metro Atlantans during the winter storm, the AJC is offering free access to the online newspaper (a PDF-style version of the printed paper; link here) and For those of you who are not subscribers, I hope you’ll take advantage of both. Today’s paper is packed with valuable and insightful information about the storm. has all of the content that goes into the paper as well as the online blog content in a cleaner format than

If you’ve got time on your hands, I’ve included 12 links to Atlanta Falcons stories that my colleagues [More]

VIDEO: Claude Humphrey on his days with the Falcons

  • 3:36 pm Sunday, February 2nd, 2014 by D. Orlando Ledbetter

VIDEO: Dave Baker presents 2014 Hall of Fame class

  • 3:29 pm Sunday, February 2nd, 2014 by D. Orlando Ledbetter

(Press Release from the Pro Football Hall of Fame)

CANTON, OHIO – The Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee held its annual selection meeting today and elected seven individuals to the Class of 2014. Bringing the total number of members in the Hall of Fame to 287 are linebacker Derrick Brooks, punter Ray Guy, defensive end Claude Humphrey, tackle Walter Jones, wide receiver Andre Reed, defensive end Michael Strahan, and cornerback/safety Aeneas Williams.

Saturday’s annual selection meeting was held at the Super Bowl XLVIII Media Center in New York City. The newest members of the Hall of Fame were selected from a [More]